Passenger Rail Agency of South Africa (PRASA)

Contact Details

Physical Address: Prasa House, 1040 Burnett Street, Hatfield, Pretoria

Postal Address: Private Bag X101, Braamfontein, 2017

Tel: +27 12 748 7000




The Passenger Rail Agency of South Africa (PRASA) is a state-owned enterprise responsible for most passenger rail services in South Africa. It was established in March 2009 by the National Department of Transport.

PRASA’s rail services are grouped into three divisions: Metrorail, which operates commuter rail services in urban areas; Shosholoza Meyl, which operates regional and intercity rail services; and Premier Classe, which provides luxury coach services on specific routes.

Metrorail operates in South Africa’s provinces of Eastern Cape, Gauteng, Kwa-Zulu Natal and the Western Cape. Metrorail operates at 471 stations (320 owned by PRASA and 151 by Transnet) and transports about two million passengers per day, accounting for about 15% of South Africa’s daily public transport share. Metrorail’s rolling stock fleet consists of approximately 400 train sets with varying sizes between 8 and 14 coaches per train set.

Shosholoza Meyl currently provides regional and intercity services on 21 routes between major destinations in South Africa. It carries about four million passengers per annum.

Premier Classe deluxe trains provide luxury services on routes between Johannesburg, Cape Town and Durban.

Scroll to Top